lastdyoff.gif
lastwkoff.gif
treeoff.gif
searchoff.gif
helpoff.gif
contactoff.gif
creditsoff.gif
homeoff.gif

The Daltaí Boards » Archive: 2005- » 2005 (March-April) » Archive through March 11, 2005 » Studying another language at the same time as Irish « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Mícheál
Username: Mícheál

Post Number: 11
Posted on Friday, March 04, 2005 - 09:08 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Does anyone have any tips for studying two languages at the same time? I would like to take up another language but worry about the method to follow so I do not take energy away from learning Irish, which I have been studying for nearly two years. Would it be best to wait a few more years until I am more proficient in Irish and then take up the pursuit? I do enjoy watching foreign films and find myself mimicing the sounds and phrases of each language. I also am amazed at how many people in these discussions are fluent in more than one language. However, not being as young as I used to be, I do not want to short-circuit the one language in learning another. Any thoughts? Forgive me if this topic has been discussed greatly before, and, if so, I will check out the archives. As always, GRMA.

Antaine
Username: Antaine

Post Number: 261

Posted on Friday, March 04, 2005 - 10:18 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

not necessarily. you could try learning the same things at the same time (eg - pleasantries, the verb to be etc)

the tough part comes in using it. personally, my french is suffering because i like to use irish at every opportunity. i used to alternate note taking one day irish one day french, but now use exclusively irish and gregg shorthand for what irish i don't know.

finding a penpal in the other language should do it. i've been looking for one in france for awhile...

Lughaidh
Username: Lughaidh

Post Number: 177
Posted on Friday, March 04, 2005 - 11:31 pm:   Edit Post Print Post