lastdyoff.gif
lastwkoff.gif
treeoff.gif
searchoff.gif
helpoff.gif
contactoff.gif
creditsoff.gif
homeoff.gif

The Daltaí Boards » Archive: 1999-2004 » 2000 (January-June) » The use of Irish (Gaelic) « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Christian (bg-tc-ppp514.monmouth.com - 209.191.63.74)
Posted on Monday, April 03, 2000 - 12:06 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I am a student at St. Michael's College. I recently was involved in a debate as to when Gaelic was primarily used in Ireland, its origins, and its near disappearance. I was wondering if u knew any web sites that would lead me to this information. Thank you.

Anthony Valentino
Posted on Thursday, April 06, 2000 - 11:55 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

It is important to remember that "Gaelic" is not a language, but a group of languages
including Irish, Scottish, Welsh, Cornish, Manx, and Breton. Cornish and Manx were
extinct, but have been resurrected in recent years. The proper names for what is spoken
in Ireland (other than English) is Irish or Gaeilge. When "Gaelic" is seen it usually refers
to Scots-Gaelic and is therefore a (close) but different language.

The following website was compiled in late 1993. The situation is presented in a
pessimistic light. To my knowledge, the situation is not as grim as presented there, but
has only taken a *slight* upturn in the 90s...not to uncork the champagne yet...but don't
go making funeral arrangements, either. take it with a grain of salt.

http://www.helsinki.fi/~tas
almin/europe_report.html
#IGaeli

Jonas (cache-external.it.helsinki.fi - 128.214.173.89)
Posted on Friday, April 07, 2000 - 08:17 am:   Edit Post Print Post

The above statement is only partially true. Irish, Scottish Gaelic and Manx ARE Gaelic languages.
Breton, Cornish and Welsh are NOT Gaelic Languages, they are Brittish languages. Both groups are however Celtic

Laigheanach (ts13-115.dublin.indigo.ie - 194.125.173.115)